(Doctoral program)

Degree program: Doctorate Faculty of Science

General description

The doctoral program in Physics includes a written dissertation about the own independent scientific research project. The program includes a curricular
part of at least 12 ECTS credits. The curricular part is determined individually for each doctoral student through the doctoral committee and focuses on the specific environment of the research area but also considers a general physics education. Per year, the visit of at least one scientific congress or summer school, relevant to the own research area, is compulsory. The regular participation in weekly research seminars is compulsory (no ECTS credits). Additionally, doctoral students must take at least one teaching load in each semester.

Admission requirements

Admission to doctoral study is governed by the ordinance on admission to studies at the University of Zurich (Verordnung über die Zulassung an der Universität Zürich VZS). The main requirement for admission to doctoral study is a Master's degree from a university or an equivalent degree. Each PhD project must receive approval from a professor at the Faculty of Science or from a person who has the right to confer a PhD at the Faculty of Science. There is no general right to be granted admission to a PhD program. Admission may be made contingent on conditions and/or restrictions in the form of additional coursework. Conditions must be met prior to admission to doctoral study; restrictions may be fulfilled during doctoral study. Coursework required to meet conditions and/or restrictions may not exceed a total of 60 ECTS credits; requirements are specified according to the demands of the subject in which the PhD thesis will be written. The Vice Dean of Studies decides on admission, on recognition of similar degrees, and on conditions and/or additional requirements that may apply. As a rule, the language of instruction in the PhD programs is English. All applicants whose native language is not English, or whose prior studies have not been conducted in English, are required to provide proof of sufficient knowledge of English.

ECTS credits

12 ECTS Credits


Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Language of instruction